Advisory board

The Advisory Board, which meets once a year, is responsible for oversight of the Creative Multilingualism research programme. Its members are as follows:

  • Jo-Anne Baird, FacSS, Pearson Professor of Educational Assessment, and Director of the Department of Education, University of Oxford
  • Ian Bauckham, CBE, CEO Tenax Schools Trust
  • Rebecca Braun, Professor of Modern Languages & Creative Futures, Lancaster University
  • Charles Burdett, Professor / Director of Studies in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures, Durham University
  • Ann Carlisle, Chief Executive, Chartered Institute of Linguists
  • Janice Carruthers, Professor of French Linguistics, Queen’s University, Belfast
  • Andrea Cornwall, Pro-Director Research & Enterprise, SOAS, University of London
  • Maria Ferreras-Willetts, Educational Philanthropist
  • Hilary Footitt, Research Professor, University of Reading
  • Charles Forsdick, James Barrow Professor of French, University of Liverpool
  • Shelome Gooden, Associate Professor of Linguistics, University of Pittsburgh
  • Claire Gorrara, Professor of French, Cardiff University, and Chair of UCML 
  • Vicky Gough, Schools Adviser, British Council
  • Richard Hardie, Senior Adviser to UBS AG in the UK, and lead for Speak to the Future
  • Bernardette Holmes, CBE, Campaign Director, Speak to the Future
  • Mike Kelly, Professor Emeritus of French, University of Southampton
  • Neil Kenny, FBA, Professor of French, University of Oxford
  • Nick Mair, Director of MFL, Dulwich College
  • Maria Nikolajeva, Professor of Education, University of Cambridge
  • Karen O’Brien, Professor of English and Head of the Humanities Division, University of Oxford
  • Stephen Parker, Professor in German Studies, Cardiff University 
  • Colin Riordan (Chair), President and Vice-Chancellor, Cardiff University
  • Ivor Roberts, KCMG, former President of Trinity College, Oxford
  • Nigel Vincent, FBA, Professor Emeritus of General and Romance Linguistics, University of Manchester
  • Tim Wall, Professor of Radio and Popular Music Studies, Associate Dean for Research in the Faculty of Arts, Design and Media, Birmingham City University
  • Marina Warner, DBE, FRSL, FBA, writer and Professor of English and Creative Writing, Birkbeck, University of London
  • Jocelyn Wyburd, Director of the University of Cambridge Language Centre


Find out more:

What is Creative Multilingualism?

Who is conducting the research?

Who are partners in the programme?