Advisory board

The Advisory Board, which meets once a year, is responsible for oversight of the Creative Multilingualism research programme. Its members are as follows:

  • Jo-Anne Baird, Pearson Professor of Educational Assessment, and Director of the Department of Education, University of Oxford
  • Ian Bauckham, Executive Head Teacher, Bennett Memorial Diocesan School, and Chair of the Teaching School Council MFL Pedagogy Advisory Group
  • Rebecca Braun, Professor of Modern Languages & Creative Futures, Lancaster University
  • Ann Carlisle, Chief Executive, Chartered Institute of Linguists
  • Janice Carruthers, Professor of French Linguistics, Queen’s University, Belfast
  • Maria Ferreras-Willets, Educational Philanthropist
  • Hilary Footitt, Research Professor, University of Reading, and author of the National Languages Survey in HE, 2005
  • Shelome Gooden, Associate Professor of Linguistics, University of Pittsburgh
  • Claire Gorrara, Professor of French, Cardiff University 
  • Vicky Gough, Schools Adviser, British Council
  • Richard Hardie, Chair of UBS AG, and lead for Speak to the Future
  • Bernardette Holmes, Campaign Director, Speak to the Future
  • Mike Kelly, Professor of French, University of Southampton, and Director of Routes into Languages
  • Neil Kenny, Professor of French, University of Oxford
  • Nick Mair, Modern Languages Department, Dulwich College
  • Maria Nikolajeva, Professor of Education, University of Cambridge
  • Karen O’Brien, Professor of English and Head of the Humanities Division, University of Oxford
  • Stephen Parker, Henry Simon Professor of German at Manchester University and Chair of the Modern Foreign and Classical Languages Panel of the A-Level Content Advisory Board
  • Colin Riordan (Chair), President and Vice Chancellor, and Professor of German, University of Cardiff
  • Ivor Roberts, President, Trinity College
  • Nigel Vincent, Professor Emeritus of General and Romance Linguistics, the University of Manchester, and Vice-President (Research & HE Policy) 2010 – 2014 at the British Academy
  • Tim Wall, Professor of Radio and Popular Music Studies, Associate Dean for Research in the Faculty of Arts, Design and Media, Birmingham City University
  • Marina Warner, writer and Professor of English and Creative Writing, Birkbeck, University of London
  • Jocelyn Wyburd, Chair of the University Council for Modern Languages


Find out more:

What is Creative Multilingualism?

Who is conducting the research?

Who are partners in the programme?